Invitation to the Award ceremony and presentation of theses – VCLA International Student Awards 2019

Category : Uncategorized

It is our great pleasure to invite you to attend the award ceremony for the winners of the 4th edition of the VCLA International Student Awards for Outstanding Bachelor and Master Theses. Following the ceremony the winners will give a short presentation of their theses. The award ceremony is collocated with GROW 2019.

Date: September 24, 2019

Time: 15:15

Duration: 1 hour, including presentations

Location: FH 5, Freihaus building of TU Wien

Outstanding Master Thesis Award

Martín Muñoz (Pontificia Universidad Católica de Chile) for the master thesis Descriptive Complexity for Counting Complexity Classes under the supervision of Marcelo Arenas and Cristian Riveros. 


Outstanding Undergraduate Thesis Award

Alexej Rotar (TU München) for the undergraduate thesis The Satisfiability Problem for Fragments of PCTL under the supervision of Jan Kretinsky.



The VCLA International Student Awards aim to recognize and support students all over the world for their outstanding scientific works in the field of Logic and Computer Science. The award is dedicated to the memory of Helmut Veith, the brilliant computer scientist who tragically passed away in March 2016, and aims to carry on his commitment to promoting young talent and promising researchers in these areas. The winners receive cash prizes, and invitation to present the theses. 

New Call for Submissions

The deadline for submission of nominations for the degrees awarded between November 15th, 2018 and December 31st, 2019 (inclusive) will be announced in January 2020. 

Award Committee

  • Ezio Bartocci
  • Wolfgang Dvořák
  • Ekaterina Fokina
  • Robert Ganian (committee co-chair)
  • Maximilian Jaroschek
  • Roman Kuznets
  • Martin Lackner
  • Bjoern Lellmann
  • Magdalena Ortiz (general chair)
  • Matteo Pascucci
  • Revantha Ramanayake (committee co-chair)
  • Christoph Redl
  • Peter Schüller
  • Mantas Simkus
  • Sebastian Skritek
  • Friedrich Slivovsky
  • Bhore Sujoy
  • Johannes Wallner
  • Antonius Weinzierl

Previous editions

Previous editions of the VCLA International Student Awards can be found here.